Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can any one help me here as I am getting a bit mislead,
Firstly I have been paying UK NI for 30 years, so I am fully payed up for the current UK pension scheme.
Secondly I have a Military pension from my time served in the UK armed forces.

as I understand it some of this will be taxed but by which country.

Thirdly as I am still relatively young, 46, I plan on being self employed under the AE scheme.

How much Cotisatons would i end up paying, I only expect to make around 10,000euros a year.

So if I pay Cotisations for the rest of my working life, 20 years, how much french Pension would i end up getting.

Hope some one can clarify these points.

·
Administrator
50,395 Posts
Can't help you on the UK pensions stuff (but someone here on the forum will have information for you).

OK, all the details about the AE scheme are available on Portail officiel des auto-entrepreneurs Just remember that you pay cotisations based on your turnover (gross revenue) before any deductions for expenses or anything else. How much you pay depends on the type of business - a service business pays about 23%, while a business that involves merchandise pays a higher percentage (because the ceiling on AE revenues is higher for a merchandise based business).

If you pay cotisations for 20 years, you'll be eligible for a partial pension based on the number of years you paid in, and the amounts you declared during those years. (The exact formula is really complicated.) You can get an idea by going to the RSI website www.rsi.fr (RSI is the agency that collects cotisations for the independent workers, like AEs) - but the pension system here is under fire for being too costly and I guarantee you there will be changes made to the system over the next 20 years.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Banned
6,806 Posts