Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I have just discovered that as of next year (July 2014) it will officially be 5 years since I have lived & worked in France and more than 5 years that I've been PACSED to a french-born citizen.

Now researching the steps to french citizenship, I'm am curious about a few things for the process. I have read everything on service-public.fr

I've read it takes anywhere from 12 to 18 months after submitting the dossier to get a response and there are up to 2 possible interviews.

I have everything perfectly together for the dossier, PACSED, speak fluent french, proof of residency for 5 years, french drivers license, CDI in France for 2 of the 5 years, etc.

However, my man and I have been considering moving/living in the US for a bit in 2015.

If I apply in July 2014, will I be able to live in the US for a few months in 2015 if I still haven't heard back? Or would I technically not be able to leave the country during the wait?

I imagine if I still had my rental apartment it would be fine but I'd prefer to give up my lease if I left for a few months. I would certainly have an address of where my french mans mother lives that could be our official "residence" when in France.

Any experience or advice for someone in my situation?

Thanks!

·
Administrator
50,425 Posts
There is no restraint on leaving the country - but you normally only get a couple weeks' notice about any interview they want you to attend, and it's not real easy to beg off until later. In fact, the way they notified me for my interview with the gendarmes was that they drove by the house and simply dropped a "convocation" in the mailbox.