Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My husband and I are looking a purchasing an apartment in Paris.
I have read through older posts to try and educate myself on the possibility of getting a mortgage in France. The posts were disheartening. I was wondering if things have changed much since those posts?
Thank you very much for your thoughts.

·
Registered
4,909 Posts
Over the years I've negotiated 2 mortgages for rental properties, and a 2 bridging loans to help between buying and selling houses.

I think there are 2 problems for you to navigate......

1. As a US citizen you may experience difficulties opening a bank account in France due to US FATCA rules. I'm no expert.....others here will help.

2. Once you've got an account you need to obtain a mortgage. As usual the bank will want to see that you will be a good customer and can repay the mortgage. This will require LOTS of paperwork and a helpful bank "directeur". Banking in France seems to be decentralised and highly dependent on the bank manager. Once you've got him/her on your side the manager will guide the mortgage application through the maze in the organisation above him.

I advise you to visit bank branches near where you live (local presence is important) and talk to the banks..armed with the paperwork (explained many times in this forum! But we can repeat it)....some will not be interested, some will help you......I don't understand the logic behind this, but it's true.

There are legal limits to monthly debt repayments as a %age of income, but mortgages are very common, so join the crowd.

DejW

I have read through older posts to try and educate myself on the possibility of getting a mortgage in France. The posts were disheartening. I was wondering if things have changed much since those posts?

·
Registered
4,909 Posts