Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I need your help on shedding some light, and your experience of course. Many thanks in advance.
I work in the IT software industry and live in Paris. I am a french citizen and american company that has an office in London, but doesn't wish to register neither a company or recruit under french law, is offering me a good position. I would have a UK job letter and contract, and paid with a UK payslick.

My questions are :
I Know there is PAYE in the UK, but I'll spend most of my time in France, so will the tax be deducted from my salary each month?

Can I be paid in Euro instead of pounds?
Can my salary be wired to my french bank account or should I open a local account in England?

Anyway I plan to go to the "Centre des impôts" and ask them their advice. Though, your expertise would definitely help me out. I'll share with you what they tell me at the impots.
Thanks a lot in advance.

Best

·
Administrator
50,425 Posts
If you are on the payroll for a company with its offices in London, you'll probably be subject to PAYE and British social insurances. That's the main reason most companies don't want to establish a French branch or payroll - it's complicated and expensive to the employer. Plus, it's getting ever more difficult to "transfer" your social insurance rights from one country to another - particularly health care (sécu/URSSAF).

The matter of being paid in euro vs. pounds or having salary direct deposited to your French account is pretty much up to your employer.