Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just recently had 9500euros seized from my bank account by E Baldy Hussiers (Bailiffs), these companies are absolute parasites.

The seizure was due to my builder putting a small hole thro to next in the wall, the friendly neighbour took me to court after not being satisfied with my repair, was a 10euro fix, however he claimed 1800euros in total, but believe it was a faux facture, but couldnt contest it, did`nt know how to and i am a serving British Soldier not able to live in France , this started 3 years ago.

What can i do to contest this now the hussiers have the money? i have recieved no notification as in Afghanistan, Falklands and Brunei during this period.

Thanking you in advance.

·
Registered
4,902 Posts
Try a notaire ( free for the first meeting, usually) if not then an advocat.

Good luck, it's never easy grappling with French administration when it's red in tooth and claw like this.

DejW

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Notaire or avocat

Notaire or avocat is there a difference, in Brunei now, here for 3 years, but rtn to France in Jun for 2 weeks and need to get an action plan in place.

Thanks for the response

·
Registered
4,902 Posts
I'll let others answer the question - I don't want to give you duff gen.

DejW

Notaire or avocat is there a difference, in Brunei now, here for 3 years, but rtn to France in Jun for 2 weeks and need to get an action plan in place.

Thanks for the response

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
As DejW said, I would start with the Notaire (equiv to our solicitors, I think), and he/she will either take it from there or pass you along if it's not in their remit.

You def. need someone who can play the system from the other side.

Maybe they can sue the builder who caused the damage.

I presume it must have been at court some time ago. How did the debt increase 5-fold?