Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am a canadian engineer and I was offered to work for a french company in france for a 12 months period. They said I will have to pay social charges such pension and others!!! and it is a significant amount.

are these amounts reimbursable? if not, how can I minimize it?

Thank you for your help

·
Banned
121 Posts
You want to move and work in another country but not pay any taxes? I though only the English did this, not a law abiding Canadian.

Do you own research and you will find that it is simple process. Your consultant is a first point of searching - not a forum.

·
Registered
4,235 Posts
Hi,
I am a canadian engineer and I was offered to work for a french company in france for a 12 months period. They said I will have to pay social charges such pension and others!!! and it is a significant amount.

are these amounts reimbursable? if not, how can I minimize it?
Is this a troll?
Giving it the benefit of the doubt:

Well the pension contributions might be reimbursable in sense that one day you might get a pension.
The healthcare contributions are reimbursable in the sense that you might need medical care.
The training contributions are reimbursable in the sense that you might want to undertake training.
The unemployment contributions are reimbursable in the sense....
Well I'm sure you get the picture.

It's called social security and the theory is that every member of society pays a fair amount into the pot, based on their earnings, so that every member of society can have access to support when they need it.

Does Canada not have a social security system?

·
Administrator
50,395 Posts
Whoa! Let's back off a bit on the accusations of doing something nefarious here. The way things work in North America, I can vouch for the fact that people there are not terribly aware of how these things like social charges and reciprocity work.