Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Hello
I have been reading this forum for a few days now and found it really interesting, I am still waiting for the reply from the french consulate that is within walking distance of my home.

Here is my case, any help would be greatly appreciated. My girlfriend is a french national, we are looking into getting married in france, We dont know if it is possible to stay in france or whether i must come back to South Africa to wait for the visa. What other things will we need to prove in order for me to be able to get married, live and work in france.

I am studying french at the moment. I have tertiary qulifications, I am within the working age. We are looking to move in a year or so, enough time to get everything done.

Many thanks:plane:

·
Administrator
50,470 Posts
The way it works these days (and this is a fairly recent change), if you are planning on getting married in France and then settling in France, you must apply for a long stay visa before you arrive in France for the marriage.

If you get married outside France, then you must apply for a visa before coming to settle in France.

Now, you say your girlfriend is a French national - but where is she resident at the moment? If you want to get married in France, she will have to return to France to establish her residency (at least 40 days before the wedding). She will need to contact her local mairie (town hall) to see what documents they will require of you (as a foreigner) in order to marry there. This is separate from your visa application - and may require some strange certifications that are probably more easily obtained in France.