1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
formalities at first entry on 175 visa

Dear everyone,
I have got my 175 visa 0n 7th september 2009
Due to schools of my children I will make my first entry in july 2010.(I am required to enter by 5Th Aug 2010, to validate my visa). I am planning to travel to Perth.
I am a structural Engineer by profession and my wife a teacher with B.Ed.

I have certain questionare
1. What are the formalities I should complete on my first arrival.
2. How much time will be required for those formalities.
3. How much AUD I should carry with me to complete those formalities and also for my stay.
4. How can I search for a job for me and my wife.
5. How can I search for good school for my children when I am in Perth. My son will go in 10th and my daughter in 4th.
5. Where in perth I can get fully furnished accomodation for my stay, which easily connect by bus or train route.
6. How much minimum salary will be sufficient, after tax deduction, for me and my family to live happily. we like rural area.

I will be highly obliged for a practical and detailed reply.
thanks in advance

·
Registered
4,597 Posts
Hi there,

There are no 'formalities' and you won't have to pay anything. You just walk through customs, they check your passport and officially put you in their system, give you your passport back, you walk through and that's it. No pomp and ceremony, no flags flying, no cheerleaders :lol: TBH after all you've gone through to get to that point, it's a bit of a let down. I have to admit I did shed a tear, I couldn't believe we'd actually made it!

How much money you will need for accommodation will depend on what type of accommodation you are looking for and which area of Perth. I've just googled these websites:

Short Term Apartment Rentals and Accommodation | South Perth
Perth Apartments & Flats : Perth, WA, Australia
Short Term Accommodation Central Perth, Perth : shorttermaccommodation.com.au