Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my wife and I just got back to America from our 3rd major trip to Europe and we are convinced that we want to reside in Italy for the foreseeable future. We love the culture, the language, the history, and the location that would give us ample opportunities to visit other European countries.

We have so many questions to ask. We have come up with the idea that ideally we would like to own and run a bed & breakfast. But we think that may be a major hurdle to overcome all at once since we don't know any of the tax laws, restrictions, visas, citizenship requirements, nor are we even close to knowing the language.

We have considered trying to find employment, then try to open a business etc, but again more questions.

I have 14 years of IT experience and my wife has taught school for 10 years. We don't know if those skills are in demand or not.

If anyone has any initial advice or questions for us, it would all be appreciated.

·
Registered
39,149 Posts
So my wife and I just got back to America from our 3rd major trip to Europe and we are convinced that we want to reside in Italy for the foreseeable future. We love the culture, the language, the history, and the location that would give us ample opportunities to visit other European countries.

We have so many questions to ask. We have come up with the idea that ideally we would like to own and run a bed & breakfast. But we think that may be a major hurdle to overcome all at once since we don't know any of the tax laws, restrictions, visas, citizenship requirements, nor are we even close to knowing the language.

We have considered trying to find employment, then try to open a business etc, but again more questions.

I have 14 years of IT experience and my wife has taught school for 10 years. We don't know if those skills are in demand or not.