Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
for those IT professionals who have visa already in australia:

i would like to know if finding a job in australia is hard to find? i am an IT professional and i am planning to get a skilled visa but i would like to know the steps to do in finding a job if ever i get to australia.

do the companies there require certain certification before you get hired? do i still need to study there before i get hired?

thanks in advance!

·
Registered
4,597 Posts
Hi there,

Welcome to the forum.

Until you get PR no company will be interested in you. My OH is in IT and he phoned a few agencies in Australia prior to getting PR. Every single agency told him to phone back when he got his visa. Funnily enough, on getting our visas, the first time we actually looked for a job, he got one!

Look at agencies like Greythorn, Gemteq, Hudsons. Go on job sites (links are in the "please read: helpful websites........" sticky at the top of the forum page. Phone/email as many companies as you can think of to see if they have any vacancies.

My husband has no formal qualifications at all, just lots of years experience and didn't find it difficult to get a job. It all depends on which part of IT you are in.

So, work at getting your visa and then when you think you are ready to move over, start the job hunting.

Dolly

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so if ever i got my visa, do i need to get to australia right away and find a job or i could stay here in the philippiens for a while and phone agencies until i get a job and then fly to australia?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Hi there,

Welcome to the forum.