Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

My husband is in Mauritius and I am British. We got married last year in August in Mauritius. I met him in 2007 in Mauritius and since then we have been communicating via the Internet, or smtimes once a year I will go to Mauritius or sometimes he does. Last year I lived with him in his parents house for 3months though. I am still studying full time and working full time to sponsor him as well. I have recently found out that the Home Office looks at the gross monthly income and in all the pay slips I provide, they check the lowest out received. When my husband and I calculated the amount we need to show because I do jot earn 18600, it came to 30k but now with the lower pay slip, am thinking do we need to wait another 6 months? Because I only need another 1500 which I can save in 2months, but after that, do we wait6months again? Or he can apply his visa as we planned in January, which is when the 6months finishes after the 30k we saved.

·
Registered
39,103 Posts
If your pay fluctuates because you are paid hourly or daily, or you receive commissions, bonuses or overtime, what they do is to take the average over 6 months and work out the annual income. So if you meet the requirement this way, you can sponsor after 6 months. Only up to 30% of your total pay can be from commissions, bonuses and overtime. But if your fluctuation is due to unpaid leave etc, then you have to wait until the below-par monthly payslip (under £1,550) drops out of your calculation. Your employer has to specify in their letter on what basis you are paid, and whether you are entitled to commissions, bonuses etc.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·