Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 26-year old American. I've been living in France since 2011. I had two long-stay au pair visas, but since August I have been granted a carte de séjour vie privée et familiale because I married a very lovely Frenchman.

I am currently an ESL teacher, but I studied theatre at a university in the United States, and the original reason why I came to France was to study at l'École Internationale de Théâtre Jacques Lecoq. It's a 2-year program, and unfortunately it's somewhere between 7-8,000 euros per year. Because it is a private institution, they do not accept aid from the government and therefore cannot provide students with financial assistance. They recommend researching organizations like CROUS or CAMPUS FRANCE.

I've lived in Paris before, and I'm no stranger to how incredibly expensive it is to live there. I just cannot fathom being a student and going to class 30 hours per week and being able to afford the school's fees, rent, bills, groceries, etc. without holding down a full-time career. So there must be an answer, right? Is every one of their students just rich as God? There must be financial assistance available to performance students... right?

The thing is, I'm a little confused about my status and what sort of financial aid I should be looking for. Most grants and scholarships are for American students wishing to study abroad... but I'm already a resident of France (not a citizen). Because I have my carte de séjour, would I be searching for scholarships and grants available to French citizens? Most of the scholarships or grants that I find are for students of medicine, engineering, or other sciences. But I am under the impression that France supports its artists, so there must be something out there that I am not seeing.