·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have three questions:
1. visa?
2. filmmaking community?
3. jobs in Kobe/Osaka?

I'm an emerging filmmaker/writer/game designer/cartoonist from New Zealand.
But I make my main income right now as a freelance writing mentor.
I'm thinking of spending 6 months in Asia to attempt to make a feature movie shot on video - at the moment I'm looking at Thailand or Japan.
Is this possible visa-wise?
Also is there a filmmaking community in Kobe?
after that, if I like it I would consider emigrating.

I have made short movies before on zero budgets.
I have a screenwriting degree and a level 6 art diploma with honours.
I've had work experience touring a children's play, working at a tv station and a radio station as well as an art gallery - but didn't really enjoy that last one.
I also have had a data entry job - which I enjoyed.

I would be open to doing some kind of job in Kobe/Osaka as well.

My plan is to make 6 short movies in 6 weeks at 15pgs/mins each week - for principal photography. And then 6 weeks (6 days/wk and 5hrs/day) of principal photography at 3pgs/mins each day. 3 months for pre and post. This will either be on a zero or micro-budget, the cast and crew would be fed and rewarded with pre-wrap, wrap and final cut parties. Ideally the cast and crew would also be paid and in most cases that is feasible, all depends on the budget - which depends on whether I can raise funding or earn enough from my creative work and/or find a job.

I'm interested in social enterprises, manga shops or publishers/anime shops or publishers/convention management and sustainable product management.