Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

A newbie question here !

I am an IT professional , working on 457 Visa in Melbourne. I have been working here for more than an year already.
I have decided to file for Australian PR now.

As the first step I have completed ACS and have cleared PTE with required points.
The total points for my application amount to 75 (thanks to good PTE score).

I am getting married in November this year and my fiancée and I both want to travel to Australia after marriage.

Now my question is - Form a perspective of my wife being eligible to work as fast as possible, which is the favorable option for me to apply PR ?

1) I apply for PR immediately, go back to India for my marriage and then apply for her dependent visa(?)

2) We both get married, keep our documents ready and file the EOI only after coming back to Australia after marriage (I will file a tourist Visa to bring her along)

The important consideration for me is that she is eligible to work in Australia the earliest after arrival. Based on this please suggest the path that should be undertaken

As an additional clarification, could you please provide a list of the formalities which can be completed and kept before marriage, which will help us apply at the earliest ?

Many thanks to the excellent folks on the forum for their help !

mobius 1

·
Registered
25,743 Posts
Hi All,

A newbie question here !

I am an IT professional , working on 457 Visa in Melbourne. I have been working here for more than an year already.
I have decided to file for Australian PR now.

As the first step I have completed ACS and have cleared PTE with required points.
The total points for my application amount to 75 (thanks to good PTE score).

I am getting married in November this year and my fiancée and I both want to travel to Australia after marriage.