Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello this is my first time on here! My son's fiancee is in Guatemala and is applying for a visa to come to him in the UK to stay and get married. I have a thousand questions but the main one is that there is no VAC in Guatemala and it looks like she will have to go to Colombia to get her biometrics done. But she can't hand her passport over as she won't be able to fly back to Guatemala without it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Administrator
36,600 Posts
Hello this is my first time on here! My son's fiancee is in Guatemala and is applying for a visa to come to him in the UK to stay and get married. I have a thousand questions but the main one is that there is no VAC in Guatemala and it looks like she will have to go to Colombia to get her biometrics done. But she can't hand her passport over as she won't be able to fly back to Guatemala without it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
:welcome:

I've moved this to our Britain forum for you

hopefully someone here will have experience of this or know where to find the info for you

·
Registered
39,118 Posts
What normally happens in case like this is she takes her passport to Bogota and they will take a copy and return it. If her application is successful, they will ask her to send her passport (by courier delivery like UPS) where they attach her visa or vignette and return, plus her original supporting documents.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you so much. Will she have her biometrics done on the same day as her VAC appointment? And also another question is about her English language test. I read that if there isn't anywhere in her country where she lives and works where she can do this (which there isn't) then she doesn't have to take the test. She has emails confirming this.

·
Registered
238 Posts
Hi Sandy,