Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My GF and I are living together in PI and we are planning on getting married in Las Vegas in the near future. After the wedding we are going to be returning back to the Philippines after spending a few days in the States visiting friends and family etc.

In looking at the paperwork for both types of Visa (Fiance Visa and Tourist Visa), it seems that the Fiance Visa is for the couple to REMAIN in the US and of course the Tourist Visa is just that, where everybody returns back to their native country after the visit.

Since we will be RETURNING to the Philippines after the wedding, should we be using a Tourist Visa application vice the Fiance Visa application or will US Immigration give us the correct Visa no matter what application we use.

Sorry for all these Visa questions, but this is my first time dealing with Immigration matters and don't want to make a mistake which might cause a problem. I understand these Visas are hard to get and the denial rate is very high for some reason.

JM101

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
The Tourist Visa is very hard but not impossible. Your girl friend has to have a valid reason to return to the US (college, business, job, etc.) and show she has some money (not you depositing $10,000 in her bank account just before the interview).

The Fiance Visa is not cheap and takes 6 months to a year and you are correct. It is for someone immigrating to the US and you have to stay there for 3-5 years to get her citizenship.