Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am new on here and was just hoping someone could give me some fiance and marriage visa advice for the UK. I just found out about the possible sponsor increase to over £25,000 a year starting in June. Is there any new information on whether this change is going to happen? All the news articles are from March and April. My boyfriend receives public funds for disability and I am a student who doesn't have much money, so if they change the rules we cannot marry and settle there and he cannot come and live in the US because of his needing support. I will have a good amount of savings when I come over and plan on finishing up my schooling there. If we rush the fiance visa through, or get married in the US, could we still be denied the marriage settlement visa if these changes go through? I am open to hiring a company to help with paperwork and rush the application through, but I am not sure in the US who I should go to?

·
Super Moderator
5,181 Posts
If you have the resources to apply (USD ~1400$) for a UKBA fiancé(e) visa now (or by the end of the month), I'd do so. That way, you'd be assured of the fact that your application would be in process before the changes take place and thus exempt from changes that might be made effective 01 June.

If you apply by 30 May, you would have until the 28th of August to arrive in the UK (well after the end of final exams for the summer semester at most North American colleges and universities)... you would then have a further 180 days after that (i.e. later part of February 2013) to get married.

Good luck to you at school this summer and to you both with your visa application.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·