Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am looking for some advise.... to give you some history I have dual UK and Canadian citizenship as i was born in London, Ontario to British parents who moved back to the UK when i was just 1 years old.

For a number of years now I have been wanting to move to Canada as I feel there are much more opportunities and having returned many many times on holiday, love the way of life and feel that it is now time to take the plunge and try to make a go of it. I am 25, educated to degree level and have been doing Personal Assistant, Executive Assistant type jobs since leaving uni although my degree is in Forensics.

I have my proof of citizenship card and am in the process of updating my canadian passport, but am finding it hard to get responses from job applications whilst in the UK. my question is, am i being un-realistic in thinking that i can move over and look for a job once out there (Toronto / niagara region) - i would have enough money to take to last aprox 6 months so would hope that in that time i would have found something to tide me over until i could get soothing more permanent. I also wouldn't be totally on my own as i know some family friends who also live in this area

I realize that i would also have to apply for a SIN and there would be other factors to take into account (which i have began planning out), but do you think this would be a posibility or am i dreaming too much!

Thanks in advance for your comments

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
Hi, I am looking for some advise.... to give you some history I have dual UK and Canadian citizenship as i was born in London, Ontario to British parents who moved back to the UK when i was just 1 years old.