Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started to look into car loans. To be honest, not something i know a lot about.

But it seems, that the interest for the whole loan period is calculated and put on top of the loan.

example

you borrow 120.000
interest for 4 years is 22800

your balance is now 142800 which is devided into 48 monthly payments.

So basically if you want to settle the loan after for example 1 year. You will end up paying interest for all 4 years, even if you only borrowed the money for one year.

Now, as stated in the beginning. Im no expert into loans and other financial stuff, but this seem very favorable for the banks, and something you should avoid unless you want to pay 20% interest :)

Q: Who's offering car loans with reducing balance? Anyone know that?

·
Registered
183 Posts
I have a reducing personal loan from ADCB. I had to give a salary / EOSB guarantee letter.

(I used it for a car, but did not get a car loan as I prefer to keep the paperwork simple).

·
Registered
1,303 Posts
I started to look into car loans. To be honest, not something i know a lot about.

But it seems, that the interest for the whole loan period is calculated and put on top of the loan.

example

you borrow 120.000
interest for 4 years is 22800

your balance is now 142800 which is devided into 48 monthly payments.

So basically if you want to settle the loan after for example 1 year. You will end up paying interest for all 4 years, even if you only borrowed the money for one year.

Now, as stated in the beginning. Im no expert into loans and other financial stuff, but this seem very favorable for the banks, and something you should avoid unless you want to pay 20% interest :)

Q: Who's offering car loans with reducing balance? Anyone know that?