Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 990 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I will pen down some of my experiences during process of migration to Australia in this post. This need not be true for everyone, though I believe my experiences can serve as a reference for future migrants and folks who are relatively new to Australia.

I am here on a PR - 190 visa (Victoria State Sponsored) and my nominated skill is ICT Business Analyst. I landed in Melbourne on Sunday, 27 Jan 2013 - the day of the Australian Open final. (Shame, the final did not feature Roger Federer).

To give a brief about myself, I am an engineering graduate with 7+ years in a BA role in India and South Africa.

I wish you good luck and hope the time you spend reading this post benefits you.

Cheers!
Appu

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Travel to Down Under

The first and major expense that I faced as a new migrant is cost of the ticket fare. I took the advice some of the active forumers here and went for the cheapest flights available.

As I completed my assignments in South Africa and was in India for a short vacation, this particular flight worked well for me. I came across couple of budget airlines - AirAsia and Tiger which were offering very competitive rates. The ticket costed me INR 27,000 (AUD 465) which was the cheapest at the time of my travel, again as I booked the tickets only 1 month before the date of my travel. I have came across folks who got similar deals for flights from India or South Africa - with flights like Emirates, Singapore Airlines, Thai airlines etc. Do a bit of shop around in the internet and you will find the most appropriate flight fitting your pocket.

Since you are in the job hunting mode, every penny saved is a penny earned.

AirAsia flight experience