Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My age is 25 (30 points)and i did my b.Tech in electrical & electronics engineering (15 points).
I have 7.5 each in IELTS (10 points)
I have 5 years of work experience as software engineer.

I recently consulted a migration agent for skill assesment and 189 visa. She advised me that my i need 6 years experience to be considered as SKILLED and points only after the 6 years can be claimed. Hence at present i am not suitable to apply for PR.

can anyone advice me if i get 8.0 each in ielts and apply as electrical engineer with 0 years of experience. Can i get a positive outcome.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,949 Posts
The issue isn't the number of points you can claim, it's getting a positive skills assessment which is mandatory. If you apply under an ICT occupation, ACS will assess your education and experience and if your degree is not an ICT major they will require you to have 6 years of working experience in order to gain a positive skills assessment. If you want to apply as an engineer, you'd need to see whether Engineers Australia would give a positive skills assessment with no experience.

·
Registered
5,859 Posts
Hi all,

My age is 25 (30 points)and i did my b.Tech in electrical & electronics engineering (15 points).
I have 7.5 each in IELTS (10 points)
I have 5 years of work experience as software engineer.

I recently consulted a migration agent for skill assesment and 189 visa. She advised me that my i need 6 years experience to be considered as SKILLED and points only after the 6 years can be claimed. Hence at present i am not suitable to apply for PR.

can anyone advice me if i get 8.0 each in ielts and apply as electrical engineer with 0 years of experience. Can i get a positive outcome.

Thanks