Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Morning all its my first visit to this site so I am going to do a little self info.

We have have family who have been resident in paphos for the last 8 years and have loved our visits there.
we are a married couple with 5 children ranging in age from. 14-2 years old.
We have decided to relocate to paphos from newton abbot in devon.
I am a plumbing and heating engineer with a part p domestic electrics certificate.
I will be looking to carry on with my trade there in cyprus. i am also a competent wood worker. I spent many years as a paint sprayer as well. My partner has been a full time mum. But is a superb photographer. She has had no formal training its a natural talent and is self taught. What is the work situation like there in cyprus for skilled trades.
My wife and me are currently purchasing another business in cyprus to prepare us for our arrival but I do wish to carry on my trade at least until my children have been through school. (moderated)

Thanks all Craig & lani

·
Registered
581 Posts
Quite a few plumbing companies that I have heard of in the area, but I do not believe many/any are hiring.

A lot of expats such as you work on their own, advertise for their own clients and such. Its a competative business though, so you need to advertise well.

·
Super Moderator
12,544 Posts
Hmmm, all I can say is I hope the business you are buying has good income because bringing up 5 children in Cyprus will not be cheap and you will need to be earning mega bucks to do it.
I suggest reading some of the threads on this forum to give you an idea of what you can expect as far as the cost of living and bringing children up here is concerned.

Sorry if that sounds negative to you but you need to be prepared.