Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I'm new to Dubai. I interviewed an Ethiopian Nanny/Maid who's been working here for 5 years. She has a transferable visa. She demanded 2000 AED salary. Is this reasonable?

·
Registered
3,723 Posts
I would say so, yes.

Some people will tell you to barter her down to a quarter of that, but what she's asking for is fair and it'll mean she won't spend most of her time looking for another job while she's working for you.

·
Registered
376 Posts
I think that is unreasonable. 2K is high. I think that the minimum salary for an Ethiopian maid is AED800(Guide from the powers that be) so if you go around 50-70% of that figure I think it should be reasonable. You also need to take into account Maids Visa + deposit+ flight home + bonus+ food etc.....

·
Registered
1,553 Posts
What value do you place on the well being of your children?

These threads do get my hackles up, epsecially when there are replies suggesting that she should be paid a little over £100 per month.

No doubt people that only want to pay a maid/nanny that much are the same ones who did their upmost to negotiate a nice package for themselves. She is only doing the same.

·
Registered
2,190 Posts
Completely agree with Ogri and Gavtek, this is someone that is gonna live in your house, look after your kids and probably only have one day off a week. Ask yourself how much you would want to be paid to swap places?

·
Registered
376 Posts
What value do you place on the well being of your children?

These threads do get my hackles up, epsecially when there are replies suggesting that she should be paid a little over £100 per month.

No doubt people that only want to pay a maid/nanny that much are the same ones who did their upmost to negotiate a nice package for themselves. She is only doing the same.