Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I have completed my Bachelor's in Engg (Electronics & Communication) from India, and have 8 years experience in the IT industry. In India, it is quite a natural decision for an Electronics Engineer to take up a career in IT (since the Engg curriculum covers many computer related topics).

Now, if I have to apply for skills assessment to the ACS, I am not sure if my degree is considered as an equivalent to the Bachelor's/Degree in ICT in Australia.

Do any of you know what is the criteria ACS follows to consider overseas degrees? Depending on this, my application for assessment changes - either regular skill assessment (as per Group B of the ACS guidelines) or
RPL.

Please help.

Cheers
Anoop

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
Dear Anoop,

You are on the same boat as I am in. I did a lot of research online and finally decided to take RPL path. I am Electrocincs graduate with over 9 Year of exp in IT industry. i have submitted my RPL.

BTW: our university syllabus had only 2 semester of IT contents.

Good luck..

·
Registered
30 Posts
Hi Anoop and Mr.India, I have done B.Com and MCA from IGNOU (distance edu). I have diploma from NIIT (2yrs, part time)

Should I go for RPL ?

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
Reachali,

I would say, you have a recognised MCA Degree, you can go directly with skill assessment under Group A.

ACS charges $400 for Skill assessment and takes 8-10 weeks but $450 for RPL and takes 10-12 weeks.

I took RPL path because my university Degree (Electronics) program only had 2 semesters of ICT contents.

Best Regards,

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hi

I am Bsc from Delhi University but have 3 year GNIIT from NIIT on Computers. Can NIIT 3 year course be consider for ACS skill assessment or do I have to go RPL path. Please advise

Thanks

·
Registered
4 Posts