Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a dual UK/USA citizen who has lived in the UK all my life. I have never filed a US tax return (I thought I didn't need to - oops).

For the past few years I was studying full time for a PhD. I received various UK tax exemptions.

1. I received approximately £15,900 annual living allowance from the EPSRC (meant to cover rent, food, etc.). In the UK, this living allowance is tax-exempt.

Do I owe US federal income tax on that EPSRC studentship? If not, what exemption can I claim?

2. I have an ISA in the UK. Do I owe US tax on the interest from that? If not, what exemption can I claim?

3. I have a non-ISA savings account in the UK. For the past few years, I did not have to pay UK tax on that interest, because I was a student. Do I owe US tax on that interest? If not, what exemption can I claim?

Advice gratefully received! Thank you.

·
Banned
6,189 Posts
1. I received approximately £15,900 annual living allowance from the EPSRC (meant to cover rent, food, etc.). In the UK, this living allowance is tax-exempt. Do I owe US federal income tax on that EPSRC studentship? If not, what exemption can I claim?
Maybe. Absent a tax treaty that says otherwise, refer to IRS Tax Topic 421 and IRS Publication 970 for more information. I'll briefly summarize the U.S. taxability of scholarships and fellowships.

In general, scholarships and fellowships (whether public or private) are U.S. tax exempt for the amounts used for educational expenses. Educational expenses include tuition, required fees (such as a student fee required for university enrollment), and books, supplies, and equipment required for coursework. You must be attending a real university or educational institution and progressing toward a real degree. (The IRS doesn't use that language, but that's the gist of it.)