Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There are three sections to the post here:

English teacher:
I am a qualified English teacher, I have a first class degree and have been teaching for four years now. I am trying to find out if there is a need for teachers of English in Oz??? I don't really want to come if I wouldn't be eligible for a permanent visa as I think it would be too much to uproot my life and move to the other side of the world for a couple of years.

Partner visa:
My partner works in sales and wonders as that's not really a 'skill' if there is anyway he would be given a visa. I know from looking at the immi.gov (?) website that it talks Australia giving visas to people who have skills they need in their workforce but I struggled to find anywhere that told what these areas are. We had thought about the possibility of him re-training before we apply for a visa to make him more eligible but he wondered what would be a good area?

Custody:
Has anybody had any custody issues? I have a 5 year old son to a previous father, we have been separated for 4 years (we were never married), we have joint parental responsibility and he sees him once a week. I am aware if I wanted to move to Australia he would probably contend it. We are amicable and I understand the reasons he would contend it but this is a lifelong dream of mine and I feel that as I'm 27 it's a now or never stage- I would love to move for the outdoor lifestyle and believe it would be a fantastic place to raise my son. I'd love any feedback on this area as I feel that this is the one thing that could potentially stop my dreams becoming reality.

Thanks very much in advance.

·
Registered
619 Posts
There are three sections to the post here:

English teacher: