Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am a teacher at an American School in Durango. The library here is terrible. Any suggestions on where to cheaply buy English language young adult novels? Amazon and ebay have them cheaply, but it's so expensive to ship. My school has very limited resources, and I have a feeling I will be spending much of my meager salary on books for my kids. I am desperately missing Half-price books in the US.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
2,144 Posts
You may try the American Bookstore in Mexico City, but I'm almost positive they will not be cheap
A better idea would be to bring them back from the US next time you go or if someone goes before...

·
Super Moderator
9,004 Posts
You may try the American Bookstore in Mexico City, but I'm almost positive they will not be cheap
A better idea would be to bring them back from the US next time you go or if someone goes before...
The American bookstore will not be cheap. In fact, no bookstores in Mexico selling new books, whether in English or Spanish, will be cheap. This is partly due to the fact that Mexico is not a nation of readers. In Mexico City I know of a couple of used bookstores specializing in English-language books, one for charity and one for profit, where you can find books for around 25 pesos apiece. In addition, there are a number of used bookstores in the city that have selections of English-language books at good prices. Unfortunately, I don't know what the situation is like in Durango

·
Registered
929 Posts
There is no cheap option, in my experience, but there are ways that are cheaper than paying Amazon shipping or US mail rates from an eBay seller.

Here in Mexico City, I can sometimes find a hidden gem in the used bookstores downtown, but I doubt you have that in your city. If you ever come to visit Mexico City, I’ll invite you on a bookstore tour.