Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to this forum. My name is Kyle, and I'm currently living in the US. I'm studying in Delaware, and I'm originally from Boston.

My girlfriend and I have always wanted to move to either Germany or France permanently since we've traveled across Europe. We're both nearly fluent in French, and can communicate in German. I'm currently working on a masters degree in environmental engineering and before I move, I plan to work for several years (or more) at a company in the US to gain work experience and make myself more marketable. If possible, a company that has offices in these two countries.

My concern is...how difficult will it be to move to Europe and find work there? We're going to decide on which country to move to next year, and based on our choice, really work hard to master the language. Even the technical language in my case. Are there some things I should be aware of, and plan for that might not be too obvious? Basically, I'm asking how difficult is it to move, and find employment in a technical field like this?

By the way, my grandmother is from Germany if that helps my chances at all.

·
Administrator
50,384 Posts
I've lived in both Germany and France, and from my perspective it's probably easier to integrate yourself into Germany. Then again, if you're planning on working "for several years" there's no telling what changes there might be to the immigration laws by then.

Having both German and French in addition to a technical degree can open lots of doors for you. The easiest way to qualify for a visa is always to get transferred by the company you're working for - and let them handle all that paperwork for you. Next is probably finding a job yourself and going where the work is.