Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm feeling a bit bewildered as to where to start and what order things need to be done in (I've never emigrated before) so I was hoping someone who has the appropriate T-shirt can please provide a few nudges in the right direction, or a book recommendation - perhaps something like 'A dummies guide to emigrating to New Zealand'? :fingerscrossed:

I live in the UK with my partner, we're both working. We'd like to emigrate together, and hopefully permanently, to Auckland in NZ and we want to do it ASAP so that she can start a full time degree there in July. She's only applying now but is told there's still time. We have funds for tuition fees and living costs but I plan to work while she studies. I'm a Network Engineer and we're both under 28 (someone mentioned that is important).

·
Super Moderator
4,898 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

So, if your partner wishes to study here in NZ she will need the written offer of a place on a qualifying course at a recognized NZ educational facility. This written offer allows her to apply for the study visa, however she will also have to meet all the other basic criteria like health, character, proof of funds etc etc.
Google study visa for Immigration New Zealand and read all the info available on the INZ website making sure you click all the links available so you don't miss anything.
Assuming she meets all the criteria she would make out a formal application which may be able to be completed online or may only be on paper ?