Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The underlying situation is slightly more complex than the title suggests!

I'm an Indian citizen resident in the UK for 7 years. I am also in the process of acquiring Portuguese citizenship via ancestry. This application is being processed at the Portuguese Consulate in Manchester. So on completion, I shall be present in the UK, with a new Portuguese citizenship/passport, while still in possession of my Indian Passport with a valid British Visa.

As India does not allow dual citizenship with either UK or Portugal, can you foresee any complications that might arise during this process?

I assume, however rare, that there could be others who have, for whatever reason, had to switch their citizenship while in a foreign country. Can you provide me some guidance on this issue?

How does this affect my residency in the UK, past, present and future? Does a change in nationality basically reset my status, etc?

All feedback is appreciated!

·
Registered
39,103 Posts
Other than no dual-nationality issue which you must resolve yourself (e.g. getting PIO card for £217 from the Indian High Commission), there is no big complication about your status in UK. On acquiring Portuguese nationality and getting its passport, you automatically benefit from the EU Freedom of Movement provision and can continue living and working in UK without any further formality. You don't have to do anything about your UK visa in your Indian passport - you can just let it lapse, and simply use your Portuguese passport for all your travels, and with PIO card for entering and leaving India.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
And Marriage? Have I got it right?

Thanks for your great response Joppa!

I am now wondering about the steps I shall need to follow now that I am married! :peep: