Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm presently completing my PGCE in Wales. At the end of the one year course I will be awarded QTS (Qualified Teacher Status). However, in the UK you are required to due a probationary year called the NQT (Newly Qualified Teacher) before your accepted as a fully qualified teacher.

Can any one tell me if need to do this extra NQT year to qualify for a teaching certification in BC. Or could i do this NQT year in Canada. I'm a permanent resident and lived in BC for years. I intend to go back to BC although, i would go where ever i could find work.

Unfortunately the BCCT have been very vague and just told me to submit my application.

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
Hi. I'm presently completing my PGCE in Wales. At the end of the one year course I will be awarded QTS (Qualified Teacher Status). However, in the UK you are required to due a probationary year called the NQT (Newly Qualified Teacher) before your accepted as a fully qualified teacher.

Can any one tell me if need to do this extra NQT year to qualify for a teaching certification in BC. Or could i do this NQT year in Canada. I'm a permanent resident and lived in BC for years. I intend to go back to BC although, i would go where ever i could find work.

Unfortunately the BCCT have been very vague and just told me to submit my application.

Thanks for your help.
BCTF > Teaching Certification and Salaries in BC

·
Registered
37 Posts
Yes, information from the BC College of Teachers can be very vague. What's more, the processing times can be very slow. Start the process early, giving plenty of time to add additional documentation and the potential of taking additional coursework in BC.

On the BCCT web site, they have specific information for teachers from Wales. You might find your answers there: