Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a full time resident of Mexico for many yrs now. I am an architect designing and doing plans for US based contractors and and other architects within the US. All of the work I do is for jobs in the US. I am paid by the various contractors and architects directly into my US bank account. I do not and do not have a need to visit any clients or work in the US. All of my design work is done from my home in Mexico. Is there a chance I can qualify for the foreign earned income exclusion.
Thank you.

·
Banned
6,189 Posts
Is there a chance I can qualify for the foreign earned income exclusion.
You qualify. You presumably pass the physical presence test since you are resident in Mexico and are not physically present in the United States.

Note that work is where you physically perform it, not how long the wire (or wireless connection) is between you and your clients or where your bank account is located. And you are a resident of Mexico on top of that. Presumably you have a tax obligation to Mexico, including social security tax. You have the option of skipping the U.S. Foreign Earned Income Exclusion and taking only the U.S. Foreign Tax Credit (to reflect your income taxes paid to Mexico), or you can take the FEIE and take the FTC only on unexcluded income.

Regarding social security tax, if you are self-employed (which it appears you are) you'll also need to pay the U.S. SE Tax. There is presently no social security treaty between the U.S. and Mexico, so even if you are required to pay social security tax to Mexico that doesn't affect your U.S. obligation. Social security taxes do not factor at all into the FEIE or FTC -- they're always paid and nonexcludable.

The U.S. and Mexico do have a non-social security tax treaty, and that tax treaty may offer some relief.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·