Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. Newbie here.

Firstly I'd like to apologise if this has been asked before. I've been searching & cannot seem to find an answer to my question.

Can someone please tell me what the equivalent of an Early Childhood (Pre-Primary School) Teacher is here in the UK?

By this I mean, qualification wise. I have a Level 3 Children and Young People`s Workforce Diploma & currently work in a nursery as a practitioner.
Does anyone know if this falls under the pre- primary school teacher or if I would have to get a degree in teaching.

Many thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
34 Posts
The UK equivalent of an Early childhood (pre-primary) teacher is a reception class teacher. No sorry a level 3 cert does not qualify you, you need a four year teaching degree to be classed as an early childhood teacher.

Your qualification would allow you to work in a childcare centre or as an EA (educational assistant) in a pre-primary class, unfortunately neither of which are on the SOL (just in case that's your next question).

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
255 Posts
I have just moved on a 176 sponsored visa via my brother . My skill of nursery coordinator is on the sol list which is how I got my visa. I had my level 2 and 3 cert in childcare when I applied (I now also have 4 but It wasn't needed To get in ) I just has to prove I was in a room senior position for I think it was 6 years. So depending on what experience you have that may be an option for you .

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you so much for your replies. It looks like I shall go down the managerial route now.
My partner is doing his accountancy degree so hopefully in a few more years we'll be in!
My brother has residency in aus, will that help our application?

·
Registered
255 Posts