Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Im a mechanical engineer with 4 yrs of experience in IT industry.
My work involved writing software for stress calculations, Should-Cost Calculation, specifically in the aerospace sector. Can i include this work in my CDR as career episodes for degree assessment from Engineers Australia?

·
Registered
157 Posts
Hi,
Im a mechanical engineer with 4 yrs of experience in IT industry.
My work involved writing software for stress calculations, Should-Cost Calculation, specifically in the aerospace sector. Can i include this work in my CDR as career episodes for degree assessment from Engineers Australia?
I would highly recommend reading the MSA booklet before you attempt to write the CDR.
You can write your career episodes on Academic Projects, Training, Industrial visits, and Work experience (provided you can submit work exp documents).
When you decide to write a career episode, ask yourself following questions before you start writing and proceed if you answer yes to all of them.

1. Did you use the knowledge of your domain in this project?

2. Would you be able to claim a majority of the competencies of an Australian Engineer listed by EA?

3. If asked for documentation/proofs, would you able to provide those?

4. Below are the tasks of a Mechanical Engineer. according to Anzsco Code 233512 Did you perform any of these duties during this project?
->Studying functional statements, organisational charts and project information to determine functions and responsibilities of workers and work units and to identify areas of duplication
->Establishing work measurement programs and analysing work samples to develop standards for labour utilisation
->Analysing workforce utilisation, facility layout, operational data and production schedules and costs to determine optimum worker and equipment efficiencies