Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Just need some advice / guidance from the group.

I'm from Alberta, Canada and have been working as a client to an international company here for the last 9 years.

Recently that international company has offered me a Management opportunity in the UAE. I know I have to send the attested education documents, which will not be a problem.

After spending hours on hours researching attestation / degrees / diploma requirements online, I need know - is a degree required to hold a management position? I have a College Diploma in Business Management and graduated in 1997 - since then I've been working, 8 of those years have been managing the account with this international company.

I'm a little worried from what I've read online, that you need a degree to hold a management position (is this a UAE government requirement requirement or a company requirement?) If so, is there any way around this?

Thanks for your responses!

·
Super Moderator
Originally from UK but lived in many countries
6,963 Posts
Hi,
You certainly need a degree to have a management title on your visa stamp.
If you can't provide an attested degree certificate - then the visa title would be clerical, sales etc.
It does not stop the company employing you as a manager within their organization.
One word of warning - if you need to visit Saudi for business, then they require that your UAE visa title is manager or director.
If you are visiting Qatar or Oman - it does not matter what your UAE visa title says - as you can get a visa on arrival.
Cheers
Steve

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi,
You certainly need a degree to have a management title on your visa stamp.
If you can't provide an attested degree certificate - then the visa title would be clerical, sales etc.
It does not stop the company employing you as a manager within their organization.