Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I was wondering if someone can help me as I feel I've hit a brick wall. My boyfriend and I have our hearts set on moving to Dubai from Ireland. I am a fully qualified teacher and my boyfriend and I were planning on living in it. Unfortunately, we discovered that this is illegal. We know that other couples, especially westerners, do cohabit but how possible would it be in accommodation that is provided by the school? Would you inform the school or just say nothing? Is anyone else in this situation? Please help!!

·
Registered
1,799 Posts
Many unmarried couples live together but I'd imagine you are going to have problems with provided accommodation and I doubt you would get away with it.
Either get an allowance so you can get your own accommodation, or get married.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you somuch for reply. I think a rent allowance would be the best option. The only trouble is that all teaching positions seem to have accomadation provided and no mention of an allowance. Are there any teachers out there who have managed to get an allowance instead of staying in a complex? How much of an allowance would be enough? I'd appreciate any feedback, thank you!

·
Registered
1,799 Posts
Even if you cannot get an allowance what about your boyfriend? He is going to have to work as well and his employer should pay him an allowance. Use that to find your own place.You will need dhs.60k a year for a decent 1 bed apt in a nice area.

·
Registered
1,799 Posts
I know teachers who do not live in provided accommodation, so I guess they must be getting an allowance, but they are all married with kids. No harm in asking for an allowance but you will have to say you are single (you cannot tell them you plan to live with bf) and they will want to know why you don't want to live in the provided acc.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·