Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

this is going to be somewhat hard to explain so please bare with me.

I have been working and living in Germany for about two years now. If everything goes well, I will be able to apply for a Germany residency permit (niederlassungserlaubnis) card in about three years. As I like to plan things in advance, I have already started looking towards that moment and making sure I am fully prepared for it. I have two passports and thus dual citizenship. I got one of the passports through birth (well through my parents' origin essentially as I wasn't born in their country, I was actually born in Germany) and the other one through naturalization when I was a young child. I applied, got my work visa and did all my papers through one of my two passports (the naturalized one) but on all the legal documents when I first came to Germany, I had to indicate that I have two passports so the German authorities have that information in their database and are aware of that fact. It's not like I could or thought about hiding this information from them.