Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK i'm very new to all this so i'm hoping I can get some more insight on some questions I had. Currently I am a Canadian citizen living in Canada. Myself and my wife want to move to the US for approximately a year for a "working holiday".
My particular situation is a little different because I am also First Nation (or American Indian). From what i've heard, I am eligible to work or go to school freely in the US. More information here:
consular.canada.usembassy.gov/first_nations_canada.asp
I am told that this qualifys me for dual citizenship and should have no problem becoming a PR (once I show proof of native status and have a US address).
If anyone has any experience with this please fill me in on the details.

My next question is in regards to my wife, how likely is it she will also be able to live and work for the year once I have PR status? what needs to be done to make this all happen?

I know my questions might be a little vague but thanks for any help!

·
Registered
3,212 Posts
Your unique and uncommon status allows you to obtain permanent residency, also known as a green card. With a green card, you could live and work in the US. After 5 years living in the US, you could naturalize as a US citizen and thus become a dual citizen of both Canada and the US.

That's the easy part. Now the hard part....

A permanent resident can sponsor their spouse to become a permanent US resident in the US. However, the category is numerically limited and the wait in line is currently 5 or more years. A US citizen can also sponsor their spouse and here there is no wait beyond the paper pushing time.