Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody, thank you all for the help you have given. I now would like a bit more. I jhave a paper driving licence (now I`m giving my age away) The licence I have is the old Green one about 30 years old. Some people are telling me it`s OK, but others are saying it`s legal.

I have been driving here for the last 6 months !!!

Thanks in advance
Beauty

PS:- Beauty is the name of my little Scottish Terrier !!

·
Registered
22,369 Posts
No, it's not legal outside of the UK. You'll have to get a photo card licence but you'll need a UK address to apply from.
You could drive for months and months without being stopped by the police and then one day....;)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, it's not legal outside of the UK. You'll have to get a photo card licence but you'll need a UK address to apply from.
You could drive for months and months without being stopped by the police and then one day....;)
Thanks a lot, my husband has only been for 6 months and already he has had a fine for going over a solid white line, so I will get one from England

Thanks a lot
Margaret

·
Registered
22,369 Posts
Thanks a lot, my husband has only been for 6 months and already he has had a fine for going over a solid white line, so I will get one from England

Thanks a lot
Margaret
I've been lucky - I once parked where I shouldn't in Estepona and the police were really nice. They got fed up with writing all the details, one very gallant policeman raised his eyebrows as if to say 'No, not possible!' when I gave him my date of birth then they more or less gave up and drove away. They didn't ask to see any documents.
The second time I left Carrefour carpark one evening and forgot to switch my lights on. I got stopped by the Guardia and had to show my licence. Again, no further action.