Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
Hope you are well.

Could some fellow aussies please share their experience as to obtaining their drivers license for Canadian roads.

I did some research from the Service Alberta website as well as from the Safer Roads site and have some questions.

Aside from the laminated drivers license that is issued in Australia (Melbourne, VIC), the Service Alberta site makes reference to a exemption from the 3 year graduated driving program with completing a government-certified driver education course.

Is this the same as the Advanced Driver course that they refer to - any one have any costs/durations on those please?

Also, what documentation did you provide to support that you had been driving for more than the 2 years to be excempt? (I've been driving on the roads for over 15 years both in a vehicle (manual) and motorcycle)....

The Laminated license as issued by VICRoads does not state what year I commenced driving, only an expiry date of the license and the vehicle classes I am allowed to drive (being manual and motorbike)....

Of the paperwork that is required - Do I need to request from VICRoads a letter from them stating when my driving commenced and do I need to request from VICPolice a driving history record??

Any help from fellow Aussies (VICtorian Based) would help, Not sure if all is the same for other states of Australia....

Thanks,
MAF

·
Registered
140 Posts
For aome reason in ididnt realise u said alberta, In Alberta, the government policy is that you may drive on your home jurisdiction licence for up to 90 days if you are here on a work visa or permanenet resident card. If you are here on a visitor visa or student visa, you may drive on that licence until your visa expires.

I know western aus licences state the day issues on it aswell as expire date

·
Registered
55 Posts