Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an American high school student seriously considering moving overseas to The Netherlands. I have the financial capabilities and rather than be a victim of stereotyping I am NOT moving there solely for the, with respect to America's, liberal drug policy. Their school of thought and values as a society match mine completely save for their views on Gun Control...

As my title suggests, I have absolutely no idea where to start learning about starting a career and college (What's it called over there?) education over there. I assume the education system is different and there's the whole language thing too (Fortunetly language is a forte of mine and I will start learning Dutch soon.).

What do I need to learn, where do I go to learn it? How much will it cost to move my limited amount of furniture over there? But most importantly is my US Diploma worth anything?

·
Administrator
50,458 Posts
The Netherlands have always had rather stringent immigration requirements, and they are only getting stricter these days.

You may want to approach your plan in stages - as it sounds like you're looking at doing university study in the Netherlands. It may be easier to get a student visa first, then even if you have to return to the US for a while in order to get a long-term immigrant visa, you'd still be on track.

EUROPA - Studying in the European Union is your starting point for research on the Dutch educational system (including universities). Be sure to check the Eurydice data base reports on the Dutch system Eurydice - Eurybase - Descriptions of National Education Systems and Policies | EACEA as it includes quite a bit of information on the university and tertiary education systems.