Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 154 Posts

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking of purchasing a home in the Ajijic area. I am a retired Realtor and do know my stuff so I have no questions about purchasing and property.

At the current time we are renting a really nice property in San Antonio that is only 550.00 usd and then the gardener and maid and expenses. I was renting a lovely place in San Cristobal de Las Casas in Chapas for 750.00 and that included everything. So actually the Chapas property turned out to be a little
cheaper. (and colder temp.).

However, a bunch of you own homes in Mexico and I am wondering if you would put your money again into property or not?

Also I am wondering how many actually live full time in just one location and live just on your retirement?

I have valued the forums input in the past and I thank you all for your past advise. I do not wish to intrude into your personal lives but I am - if you are willing to share - interested in your thoughts about this. :confused2:

·
Registered
2,041 Posts
We rented for about 4 years in San Miguel before we decided that we wanted our own place.
We wanted to be away a little with a fair amount of land so difficult to rent.
We ended up building. The base 2BR/2BA house ran just about $50US/sq.ft. By the time we added walls/fencing, brought in water & electricity, etc. it was really more like $75USD/sq.ft. The interesting thing is that once you have a house, the annual carrying costs are very low.
If I had spent enough time in Mexico to make informed decision and I had the cash available (no mortgage), I would probably build or buy.
Yes, we live full time in Mexico, minus annual friends/family holiday tour and only income is retirement-pension, SS, 401K's.

·
Super Moderator
Guadalajara, México
7,070 Posts