Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a freelance designer and all my clients income comes from the UK, but I am currently living in Bilbao with my girlfriend who is an English teacher here. She is all correctly paper worked up (tax, DNI, etc) as she is working with the British Council.

Should I register here, get my DNI etc even though I have all my clients in the UK, and what difference would it make to me one way or the other - I intend to be here for a year or so at least?

We are about to rent a plat and my girlfriend is worried that me not having a DNI may affect the process etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Ali.

·
Administrator
36,467 Posts
Hello,

I am a freelance designer and all my clients income comes from the UK, but I am currently living in Bilbao with my girlfriend who is an English teacher here. She is all correctly paper worked up (tax, DNI, etc) as she is working with the British Council.

Should I register here, get my DNI etc even though I have all my clients in the UK, and what difference would it make to me one way or the other - I intend to be here for a year or so at least?

We are about to rent a plat and my girlfriend is worried that me not having a DNI may affect the process etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Ali.
you can't get a DNI - only Spanish nationals can do that

you mean a NIE - and if here for more than 90 days have to register as resident & they'll issue a NIE then

I think there's a (legal) way of continuing to pay tax etc. in the UK as long as you aren't planning to be here more than 2 years - maybe check with the DWP in Newcastle?

IMO though, you would be better off paying here - then you'd get access to state healthcare etc.

·
Registered
24 Posts