Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings and Happy Holidays,
My wife and I are planning our escape from the US and are planning a trip to 4 cities this spring: Guadalajara+Chapala, Guanajuato, Queretaro, and Cuernavaca.
We've traveled before to many of the colonial cities and want to target one of them for further investigation. Are there any contacts in each of the cities that we can make prior to our arrival that can give first hand knowledge of the city including health care, cost of living and the essence of the various colonias? I'm an Architect/RE developer and my wife is a realtor so we're not interested in viewing individual properties. On a side note we are interested in perhaps acquiring property to rehab and turn and would appreciate comments on that endevour. Thanks for your time and kudos to all that supply valuable information in this forum

·
Registered
6,719 Posts
Your questions are very broad and your major problem will be that you may become charmed by all of your destinations. As for Medical care, Guadalajara will probably offer the finest hospitals of the cities you mentioned. Chapala will offer the best selection of international groceries and micro-climate. Guanajuato may offer the most photogenic scenes, Querétaro the easier access to DF and Cuernavaca the best excercise for your legs in that 'tilted' city.

·
Registered
2,041 Posts
Mexican Cities

I was trying to get a better feel for what you are looking for by your set of mentioned options but not really obvious, at least to me.
I'm very aware of Queretaro and Guanajuato and those hard to reconcile as very different.
I'm less aware of Guadalahara as experience really Tlacapaque & the Tonala market and know Cuernavaca only second hand.
I know people that think all of these are wonderful and others that have moved from each because not what they wanted.