Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a Technical Writer from India. I have over 9 years of very good experience in Technical Writing.

I was wanting to migrate to Australia since many years.

And I finally got everything ready and filled the Skill Assessment form. My ANZSCO code is 212415, and I fall under State Sponsorship Migration. But I was fine with that as well.

But...I just realized that Technical Writing happens to be in the Red zone - Off List for almost all the states. That means sponsorship is limited to applicants who are recent South Australian (SA) international graduates, who studied at a South Australian institution and where this study meets the DIAC two year study requirement. If any of the applicant's studies were undertaken outside of South Australia, a minimum of 50% of their qualification must have been completed in South Australia.

Now...I guess there's no way I can think about moving to Australia.

I see so many jobs on SEEK for Technical Writers in all the places like Sydney, Melbourne....etc. But I can't take them, coz I can't migrate to Australia.

I don't have any relatives in Australia who can sponsor me.

Which implies....that I was an idiot.

Any help, feedback will be appreciated.

Thanks. :confused:

G

·
Do people get sponnsored by employers in your field? If so how about applying for the jobs you see, noting that you need sponsorship?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am mulling over that option...!

Since there are so many jobs on SEEK, I am planning to upload my Resume there.

But again, work permits are for limited time period (as I understand). And I would not like to change a country again when my work permit expires...!

Its such a disappointing day today.

·
Registered
630 Posts
Hi,

I am a Technical Writer from India. I have over 9 years of very good experience in Technical Writing.