Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Anyone know of any employers hiring in Germany (Köln) ? Preferably in science? I have a Bachelor of Science in Bio. I want to move to Germany permanently. I've tried looking on Eures but all those jobs require Ph.D's. If not....anyone know of any employers period? I want to start a new life. I'm 23 and I think it's about time for me to take this step. I don't care if you own a coffee shop. I will work there.

campocr2011 at gmail dot com

·
Administrator
51,953 Posts
You can always try your luck by just sending out your CV to German employers and see what develops, but you'll do far better if you get a few years of experience working in the US first. Most German (and European) university and job training programs include periods of practical work experience (which are required for graduation), so you're at a bit of a disadvantage compared to European graduates - both because they don't require a work visa and because they have a certain amount of work experience in their field upon graduation.

You also need to be able to counter the "usual" objections to hiring a foreigner - do you speak German? (even if the company's working language is English, you'll need German for day to day living needs), are you expecting relocation assistance from the employer? How can the employer meet you face to face? (you should plan on making a trip or two to Germany on your own dime to make yourself available for interviews at a minimum). What do you bring to the table that the employer can't get by hiring a recent German or EU graduate?
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)