Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
858 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to start camping out in the wilds now the temperature has gone down.

I have lots of experience camping in other parts of the world but have never camped here.

Have a decent enough tent from UK days, sleeping bags, cool box/esky, chairs, portable bbq.

Anything else I need to think of and any good camping spots please.

·
Registered
2,636 Posts
Get one of those battery packs so you can recharge your phone while out there, or make sure to have a car adapter for the charger. Depending on how deep you go into the desert, you should have reception on your cell phone.

It's key to have that with you, a charged phone with a data plan, will help you find your way back in case required, and of course to get in touch with anyone in case needed...

·
Registered
858 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
will be in convoy

bread board? really?

tbh I'm pretty well kitted up with sand ladders etc already so may leave the BB at home :)

·
Registered
858 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Get one of those battery packs so you can recharge your phone while out there, or make sure to have a car adapter for the charger. Depending on how deep you go into the desert, you should have reception on your cell phone.

It's key to have that with you, a charged phone with a data plan, will help you find your way back in case required, and of course to get in touch with anyone in case needed...
yeah I want a to totally separate battery pack. Had one in the UK after I flattened a car battery with a fridge whilst camping. More necessary here for sure but no sign of them on sale at Ace yesterday :( Any ideas or do I need to get one shipped?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Checked out a pretty awesome spot that wasn't too technical of a drive in the mountains between Dubai and Oman. Those off road books at Adventure HQ are a real gem to get lost without actually getting lost.