Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my husband has a pep and I got a dependent pass,moving from Canada.is it easy to get an loc for getting a job in Singapore.are there any hurdles while on dependent pass.i am a business analyst in the banking sector what are the prospects

·
Registered
2,461 Posts
Nosh_If: for some reason, MOM is not so reluctant to issue LOCs for DP holders.

However, if you qualify, you may be able to get a EP under your name itself. After all, larger companies are not bothered about the EP process, unlike smaller companies.

For prospects, do a search of the job openings on Google, and you can have some idea.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Hi, my husband has a pep and I got a dependent pass,moving from Canada.is it easy to get an loc for getting a job in Singapore.are there any hurdles while on dependent pass.i am a business analyst in the banking sector what are the prospects
My husband also holds a PEP and I am on the dependent pass. I do not have problems getting LOCs. We have been here for two years and I have switched jobs-thus getting two LOC consecutively without issues.
The hurdle is getting the job, so I used to let potential employers know about my work status because employers can judge by the candidate's name whether you are a local or a foreigner. However, I find that in smaller firms in Singapore, employers do not have a clue about the PEP. The previous firm I worked for, didn't even know that as a dependent, I was entitled to work.
Also be aware of the difference in employment law here. Interviewers may ask awkward questions such as " do you have kids", "what does your husband do?" Questions that have no relevance to the job that you are applying to.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
re