Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all

Looking on advice/suggestions how to handle late FBARs and unreported interest.
I have been reading this excellent forum for days.
I am dual citizen, 10 years ago I moved back to my country of origin to take care of my aging parents.
I have been filing taxes but for last 6 years or so, but I failed to report interest income from bank accounts where I live now.
We are talking total 600-900 USD intest per year, with yearly aggregate for accounts around $40K (source of this was transfer from my US accounts), 5 accounts (2 virtually w/o any interest 0.2%, 3 with interest)
I wrongly assumed this is not taxable because of mutal tax treaty to avoid double tax so I did not report this interest on my tax return.
When preparing tax for 2015 the FBAR issue came to my attention and that scared me a lot becasue of penalties for failure to report foreign accounts.

Even had I reported this interest I would owe no tax on it becasue it would fall under foreign income exclusion limit.

How should I proceed ?

1) silent disclosure ? first file late FBARs 2008-2013 + current 2014, then file a 2014 tax and include interest income from banks for 2014 ?
2) ODVP ? what penalties do await me in this program ?
3) streamlined ? I dont qualify because is for people what did not file.
4) other ?

I appreciate any advise/help

cheers

PS today is last day of my deadline to file, should I take an extension to give more thought to it ?

·
Administrator
50,374 Posts
Just file the back FBARs (but only for those years where your total in foreign accounts exceeded $10,000) and be done with it. If you've been filing tax returns anyhow, it's a major PITA to amend your filings for what will amount to literally only a few dollars of potential tax anyhow (if that).