Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning everyone,
I'm a young Italian guy who is just about to finish his double master degree in geology (Italian and American (USA)). I have no previous work experience and, as a geologist, I don't even really know if there are prospectives for me in Singapore.

I tried to look up on the Singaporian immagration website and I didn't find anything it was even close of what I wanted, so I'll try to ask my question here.

My girlfriend is from the US and she has been offered an on-going working position in Singapore. Unluckily I don't know exactly what kind of visa she would get, but the position, as I said, is an on-going one and so she would need to stay in Singapore durably and for a long time (years+).
The decision may be dependent also on my ability to follow her into the country as soon as I finish my study (about 6 -9 months period).

Long story short, we were wondering if there is any kind of visa who would let me do this.
I saw that also the Working Holiday Programme (WHP) for Singapore (just, maybe, to get there and work on a more stable visa later) cannot be requested by Italian citizens and there is also a limit of age (25) which I'm about to exceed.

So, the main question is, is there perhaps a de facto Visa (like for example the Australian one, sorry but it doesn't let me post the url, anyway it's under Partner Visa - Department of Immigration & Citizenship, at immi.gov.au) or something similar that would allow me to take advantage of my girlfriend's visa to join her into the country on a more or less stable position?
We're a young couple, we'll soon reach our "first year anniversary" but we are not married or anything, so we could be classified exactly as a de facto partners. Moreover, even if we have lived together, we wouldn't have much to prove it (no shared bank accounts or rent agreement or anything like this).